OVERVIEW OF CERTAIN HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDS

Legislative Budget Board Staff

Presented to the House Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Education February 19, 2013

Research Funds Appropriated Directly to Institutions

Introduced House Bill Page III-242, Sec. 56 and Page III-241, Sec. 54

- Texas Competitive Knowledge Fund and Research Development Fund are funded with General Revenue and are appropriated directly to institutions in their bill patterns.
- Texas Competitive Knowledge Fund is allocated based on the three-year average of unrestricted research expenditures and the purpose is to support faculty and instructional excellence and research. Introduced House Bill appropriations total \$100.2 million. Eligibility is defined by the Legislature. 2014-15 Introduced House Bill includes appropriations to:

The University of Texas at Austin

Texas A&M University

The University of Houston

Texas Tech University

The University of Texas at Dallas

- Research Development Fund is allocated based on the three-year average of restricted research expenditures and the purpose is to promote increased research capacity. Introduced House Bill appropriations total \$65.3 million. All General Academic Institutions are eligible except for the following:
 - □ Texas A&M University
 - The University of Texas at Austin
 - Prairie View A&M University

Constitutional Funds

Introduced House Bill Page III-62

- The Available University Fund (AUF) is a separate bill pattern. AUF appropriations are estimated and are "Other Funds." Introduced House Bill appropriations total \$1,320.5 million.
 - □ Funds may be used for "support and maintenance of" the following schools or system offices:

The University of Texas System

The University of Texas at Austin

The Texas A&M System

Texas A&M University

Prairie View A&M University

□ Funds may be used for debt service for the following institutions:

The University of Texas at Arlington Texas A&M University

The University of Texas at Austin

Texas A&M University System Health Science Center

The University of Texas at Dallas

Texas A&M University at Galveston
The University of Texas at El Paso

Prairie View Texas A&M University

The University of Texas of the Permian Basin Tarleton State University

The University of Texas at San Antonio

Texas A&M University — San Antonio

The University of Texas at Tyler

Texas A&M University – Central Texas

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Texas A&M Agril if Extension Service

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Texas A&M AgriLife Experiment Station

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston Texas A&M Forest Service

The University of Texas at Health Science Center at San Antonio Texas A&M Transportation Institute

The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler

Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service

The University of Texas System

Texas A&M University System

Constitutional Funds (continued)

Introduced House Bill Page III-60

Higher Education Fund (HEF) is a separate bill pattern. HEF appropriations are not estimated and are General Revenue. Appropriations are allocated using an "equitable formula" that is administered by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB). Introduced House Bill appropriations total \$525 million. Currently, the following institutions receive HEF allocations:

The University of Texas – Pan American

The University of Texas - Brownsville

Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi

Texas A&M International University

Texas A&M University – Kingsville

Texas A&M University - Commerce

Texas A&M University - Texarkana

West Texas A&M University

University of Houston

University of Houston – Clear Lake

University of Houston – Downtown

University of Houston – Victoria

Texas Tech University

Texas Tech University Health Science Center

Angelo State University

University of North Texas

University of North Texas Health Science Center

Midwestern State University

Stephen F Austin State University

Texas Southern University

Texas Woman's University

Lamar University

Lamar State College – Orange

Lamar State College – Port Arthur

Lamar Institute of Technology

Sul Ross University

Sul Ross University - Rio Grande

Sam Houston State University

Texas State University – San Marcos

Constitutional Funds (continued)

Introduced House Bill Page III-63

- The National Research University Fund (NRUF) is a separate bill pattern. The Permanent Higher Education Fund corpus was transferred to the credit of the NRUF corpus. NRUF appropriations are estimated and are "Other Funds." Introduced House Bill appropriations total \$55.5 million. In order to receive allocations from the fund, an institution much be designated an emerging research University by the THECB, report at least \$45 million in restricted research expenditures in each of the last two years and meet at least four of the following criteria:
 - 1. Endowment of more than \$400 million
 - 2. Produces more than 200 Ph.D.s per year
 - 3. Selective entering Freshman class
 - 4. Member of Phi Beta Kappa or equivalent
 - 5. Possesses high quality faculty
 - 6. Demonstrated commitment to high-quality graduate education
- Currently the following institutions receive distributions from the fund:

The University of Houston

Texas Tech University

Research Funds at the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Introduced House Bill Page III-43

The Texas Research Incentive Program (TRIP) is general revenue that is trusted to the THECB. Introduced House Bill appropriations total \$35.6 million. The purpose is to provide matching funds to assist in the enhancement of research and faculty recruitment. Institutions designated as an emerging research University under the THECB's accountability system are eligible. Institutions currently eligible are:

Texas Tech University

University of Houston

The University of Texas at Dallas

The University of Texas at San Antonio

The University of Texas at Arlington

The University of Texas at San Antonio

University of North Texas

Texas State University – San Marcos

The Norman Hackerman Advanced Research Program (ARP) is general revenue that is trusted to the THECB. It is a competitive grant program that is open to public and independent, private institutions of higher education for the purpose of encouraging and providing support for basic research conducted by faculty members and students. Introduced House Bill appropriations total \$1 million.