
 

 
 

  
 

 

 
 
 

  

 

 

 

 
 

 

  

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

  

  

   

  

  

  

  
 

 

 
 

 
   

   

  

 
 

 

 

EDUCATIONAL AIDES IN TEXAS PUBLIC SCHOOLS 


AN ISSUE BRIEF FROM LEGISLATIVE BUDGET BOARD STAFF 

ID: 3090 MARCH 2016 

OBJECTIVE 

Educational aides perform a variety 
of tasks in preschools, elementary 
and secondary school classrooms and 
in special education. They provide 
management support for teachers 
and students. 

KEY FACTS 

♦ Educational Aide Certificates are 
based on levels (Educational 
Aide I, II, and III) with each level 
having minimum education and 
work experience requirements. 

♦ Educational aides are not required 
to obtain continuing professional 
education hours to renew their 
certificates every five years. 

♦ As of November 2015, approx-
imately 267,000 educational aide 
certificates were issued, and 
64,000 aides were employed in 
public and charter school 
systems. 

BUDGETARY IMPACT 

During school year 2014–15, public 
and charter school systems paid $1.2 
billion in salaries to educational aides. 

STATUTORY REFERENCES 

The Texas Education Code, Section 
21.003 

The federal Every Student Succeeds 
Act, Section 1005 

Educational aides in public schools provide general assistance to teachers in the classroom or 
specialized assistance to students in kindergarten to grade 12. An aide’s duties and  
responsibilities range from instructional and clerical support to classroom and student 
management support. Aide positions may include classroom aides, special education aides, 
library aides, and tutors. During school year 2014–15, approximately 64,000 aides were 
employed in Texas’ public and charter school systems with total salaries of $1.2 billion. Figure 
1 shows the number of aides in the state, grouped by geographic region, based on the number 
of full-time-equivalent (FTE) positions and student enrollment during school year 2014–15. 

FIGURE 1 
AVERAGE NUMBER OF STUDENTS PER EDUCATIONAL AIDE RANKED BY REGION 
SCHOOL YEAR 2014–15 

AVERAGE NUMBER 
STUDENT EDUCATIONAL AIDE OF STUDENTS PER 

REGION ENROLLMENT FTE COUNT EDUCATIONAL AIDE 

West Regions 14–19 545,719 7,687 71.0 

South Regions 1–3, 13, 20 1,417,598 18,595 76.2 

North Regions 8–12 1,643,919 19,780 83.1 

East Regions 4–7 1,608,106 18,473 87.1 

State 5,215,342 64,535 80.8 

NOTE: FTE=full-time-equivalent positions.
 
SOURCE: Texas Education Agency, Public Education Information Management System (PEIMS),
 
November 2015. 


CERTIFICATION 

The Texas Education Code (TEC) states that a person may not be employed as an 
educational aide by a school district unless the person holds an appropriate certificate as 
authorized by the Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 19, Chapter 230. This requirement 
includes the current standard certificate, and the provisional (professional lifetime) certificates 
issued before September 1, 1999, which are no longer available. Standard and provisional aide 
certificates are issued by the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) at the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA) based on levels (Educational Aide I, II, and III). No requirements 
are stated regarding educational aide certification in charter schools, unless specified in the 
charter application as approved by the State Board of Education. All aides employed in Texas 
must have a Texas certificate, even if they are certified in another state. 

An individual must be employed by a school district before being eligible to apply for an 
Educational Aide certificate, because the school district officials provide the recommendation 
for the certificate. 
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Certification requirements to obtain a standard Educational Aide Certificate (I, II, or III) differ, but all three require a high school diploma 
or general education development (GED) certificate and experience working with students or parents as approved by the employing 
superintendent. Educational Aide II employees must have two creditable years of experience as an Educational Aide I, or have a minimum 
of 15 semester hours of college credit with some emphasis on child growth development, or demonstrate proficiency in a specialized skill 
area as determined by the school district. Educational Aide III employees must have three creditable years of experience as an Educational 
Aide I or II, or have 30 semester hours of college credit with some emphasis on child growth development. As of November 2015, the 
number of standard and provisional certificates that SBEC had issued to aides (Educational Aide I, II, and III), irrespective of their 
employment status, was approximately 267,000. 

In 2015, the U.S. Congress passed the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), Section 1005, which reauthorized the U.S. Elementary and 
Secondary Education Act. ESSA establishes programs that enable paraprofessionals (assisting teachers employed by a local educational 
agency receiving assistance pursuant to the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, Title I, Part A) to obtain the education necessary to 
become certified and licensed teachers. Additionally, ESSA contains assurances that the state educational agency will ensure that all 
teachers and paraprofessionals working in a program supported with funds pursuant to Title I, Part A, meet applicable state certification 
and licensure requirements. These requirements include those for certification obtained through alternative routes to certification, and 
those regarding the state’s professional standards for paraprofessionals working in a program supported with this federal funding, including 
qualifications that were in place before ESSA was enacted. 

TRAINING AND CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION 

Since 1980, SBEC has issued a multilevel certification designation for aides. Unlike professional employees of the district (e.g., 
superintendent, principal, teacher, counselor, and nurse), aides are not required to obtain continuing professional education hours to renew 
their certificates every five years. However, they are encouraged to take advantage of training offered by the district and the Regional 
Education Service Centers. Institutions of higher education, such as local community colleges, also offer preparatory courses. For example, 
Austin Community College offers a 21-hour course on learning styles and instructional process, along with reading, writing, and math. 
Participants who complete and pass all the requirements can earn a highly qualified certificate, and participants who are not highly qualified 
earn a professional development certificate. The college also offers a seven–hour course that covers special education topics, such as the 
federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, including Free Appropriate Public Education and Least Restrictive Environment; 
physically impaired students; and crisis intervention. 

PROVISIONAL EDUCATOR CERTIFICATES 

TAC, Title 19, Chapter 230, states that all provisional educator certificates, including those issued to aides before September 1, 1999, are 
valid for the life of the individual unless suspended, surrendered in lieu of revocation, or revoked by a lawful authority. As a result, 
educators, including aides, who possess a lifetime certificate, are not required to pay a renewal fee, unlike those who have to renew their 
certificates every five years. TEA has few opportunities to communicate with educators who possess lifetime certificates. Furthermore, 
TEA is not required to be notified, nor does it work with any other agency to confirm the death of an educator. Thus, educators remain on 
the certified rolls for an indefinite period, as records are retained. 

CONTACT 

Ruth Rosado Email: IssueBrief@lbb.state.tx.us 
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